⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

Le silo connecté au service de l’éleveur

Le silo connecté au service de l’éleveur

L’éleveur, qu’il travaille seul dans sa ferme ou au sein d’un groupement agricole, doit accomplir de nombreuses missions comme l’alimentation des animaux. En France, la distribution des aliments fait partie des missions qui ont été modernisées et en partie automatisées grâce à la technologie des objets connectés. Il s’agit d’un système performant créé par une entreprise spécialisée dans l’optimisation logistique. Ce sont des capteurs installés sur les silos, qui fournissent à l’éleveur de très nombreuses données.

Quels sont les avantages du silo connecté pour l’éleveur ? Comment les silos connectés ont-ils modifié le travail quotidien des éleveurs ? Voici la présentation de ce système ingénieux et innovant qui oeuvre aux côtés des éleveurs pour le bien-être des animaux.

Les silos connectés pour les éleveurs-1

Connaître l’état du stock en temps réel grâce au silo connecté

Pour nourrir leurs animaux, bovins, porcs ou moutons, les éleveurs utilisent des silos comme lieu de stockage pour des céréales ou du lait par exemple. Afin de garantir une distribution optimale, les éleveurs doivent connaître le niveau de remplissage de chacun de leurs silos. Cette information leur permet d’anticiper des commandes et d’éviter des ruptures de stock d’aliments. 

Le fonctionnement du capteur installé sur l’un des pieds du silo

Le capteur est installé sur le silo par un professionnel en moins de quinze minutes. Il se place à l’extérieur du silo, sur l’un de ses pieds. Le système se compose de deux éléments :

  • le capteur protégé thermiquement ;
  • le boîtier électronique.

C’est ce système qui prend le relais de l’éleveur pour la gestion et la mesure du niveau de remplissage des silos. En effet, cette technologie à distance transmet toutes les données à l’éleveur sur une plateforme et une application mobile. 

Le rôle des capteurs dans la gestion d’un élevage

La gestion d’un élevage demande un investissement humain et financier, ainsi qu’une attention quotidienne. Les informations fournies par les capteurs aident les agriculteurs à mieux gérer leur stock d’aliments. Il existe deux possibilités :

  • l’agriculteur réalise lui-même l’ensilage de ses propres cultures ;
  • l’agriculteur achète directement les aliments dont il a besoin.

Dans les deux cas, l’aliment donné aux animaux doit être toujours disponible et parfaitement conservé. C’est le rôle du capteur connecté : contrôler la qualité de l’aliment et sa disponibilité. Ces données sont analysées et transmises dans un tableau de bord. L’agriculteur peut créer des seuils d’alerte afin d’optimiser la gestion de son stock d’aliments.

Les silos connectés pour les éleveurs-2

Maîtriser le réapprovisionnement avec le silo connecté

Une fois que les éleveurs connaissent le niveau de remplissage de leurs silos, ils peuvent maîtriser leur approvisionnement en aliments. En effet, savoir si le contenu d’un silo permet de nourrir les animaux pour quelques jours, une semaine ou quelques semaines est un élément capital pour les agriculteurs.

Anticipation et automatisation des livraisons grâce aux capteurs connectés

Cette technologie de mesure offre deux avantages aux exploitants agricoles :

  • l’automatisation des commandes ;
  • l’anticipation des livraisons.

L’automatisation accompagne le travail quotidien de l’agriculteur, tandis que l’anticipation lui offre une économie financière importante. En effet, grâce à l’anticipation, les camions sont parfaitement remplis et les livraisons n’ont pas lieu les jours fériés ni les dimanches. Ainsi, l’agriculteur peut maîtriser de façon autonome la gestion de sa chaîne logistique.

Le prix avantageux de la technologie de mesure

Si la technologie de mesure fait gagner de l’argent à l’occasion des commandes et des livraisons, elle est également financièrement accessible. En effet, le prix du capteur et le prix du boîtier sont inférieurs à 500 €. Ce prix inclut l’installation et le matériel. Puisque le matériel s’installe sur l’un des pieds, aucune échelle ni aucun autre matériel de levage ne seront nécessaires.

Outre le prix d’achat, l’utilisateur devra payer un abonnement annuel afin d’avoir accès à l’application de suivi et à la plateforme de gestion. Cet abonnement, qui comprend également une assistance, est compris entre 19 € et 49 € par an.

Pour finir, la durée de vie de la batterie est comprise entre cinq et dix ans. Cela signifie que pendant toute cette période, le matériel n’aura besoin d’aucune maintenance : ni nettoyage ni calibration physique ne seront à prévoir au cours de l’utilisation du matériel.

Le travail des éleveurs sécurisé grâce aux silos connectés

Le capteur offre aux éleveurs la garantie qu’ils pourront nourrir leurs animaux en toutes circonstances. Mais il leur permet également de travailler en toute sécurité.

La mesure du contenu des silos réalisée en toute sécurité

Le capteur positionné sur l’un des pieds du silo remplace le travail de l’éleveur. Ce dernier n’a plus besoin de se hisser au sommet de chaque silo pour évaluer le niveau de remplissage.

Au contraire, les capteurs sont des outils de mesure performants et fiables qui accompagnent l’éleveur dans ses décisions. Les silos connectés peuvent générer des commandes d’aliments de façon automatique. Mais l’éleveur garde le contrôle de ses outils et peut modifier les paramètres à tout moment.

Une agriculture connectée, mais une agriculture sécurisée

En déterminant le niveau maximum, ou seuil d’alerte, l’agriculteur détermine le niveau de production nécessaire au fonctionnement de son exploitation agricole. Il sécurise ainsi l’alimentation de ses bovins ou de ses porcs.

De plus, toutes les données récoltées sont des données sécurisées. En effet, elles font partie des données personnelles et sont en ce sens soumises à des règlementations strictes. La sécurité de chaque information récoltée dépend d’un encadrement législatif national et européen comme le RGPD, le Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données entré en vigueur en 2018.

L’agriculture connectée et l’agriculture durable représentent l’avenir des élevages et des exploitations agricoles. Les silos connectés en sont un parfait exemple puisqu’ils permettent de sécuriser le travail des hommes et l’alimentation des animaux, tout en préservant l’environnement.

Nous vous recommandons ces autres pages :

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.

⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

Connected silo at the service of the breeder

Connected silos at the service of breeders

The breeder, whether working alone on his farm or within an agricultural group, must accomplish many tasks such as feeding animals. In France, the distribution of feed is one of the missions that have been modernized and partly automated thanks to the technology of connected objects. This is a high-performance system created by a company specialized in logistics optimization. These are sensors installed on the silos, which provide the farmer with a wide range of data.

What are the benefits of the connected silo for breeders? How the connected silos have changed the daily work of breeders? Here is the presentation of this ingenious and innovative system that works alongside the breeders for the well-being of the animals.

Les silos connectés pour les éleveurs-1

Real-time monitoring of the stock level thanks to connected silos

To feed their animals, cattle, pigs or sheep, farmers use silos as a storage place for grain or milk for example. In order to guarantee an optimal distribution, farmers need to know the filling level of each of their silos. This information enables them to anticipate orders and avoid shortages of feed.

The operation of the sensor installed on one of the silo feet

The sensor is installed on the silo by a professional in less than fifteen minutes. It is placed outside the silo, on one of its feet. The system consists of two parts:

  • The thermally protected sensor,
  • The electronic unit.

This system takes over from the breeder for the management and measurement of the silo filling level. Indeed, this remote technology transmits all the data to the breeder on a platform and a mobile application.

The role of sensors in the management of livestock farming

The management of livestock farming requires human and financial investment, as well as daily attention. The information provided by the sensors helps breeders to better manage their feed stock. There are two possibilities:

  • The farmer makes his own silage for his own crops,
  • The farmer buys directly the feed he needs.

In both cases, the feed given to the animals must always be available and perfectly stored. This is the role of the connected sensor: to check the quality of the feed and its availability. These data are then analyzed and transmitted to a dashboard. The farmer can create alert thresholds in order to optimize the management of the feed stock.

Les silos connectés pour les éleveurs-2

Monitor replenishment using connected silos

Once farmers know the filling level of their silos, they can control their feed supply. Indeed, knowing whether the contents of a silo can feed the animals for a few days, a week or a few weeks is a key element for farmers.

Anticipation and automation of deliveries thanks to connected sensors

This measurement technology offers two main benefits to farmers:

  • Automation of controls,
  • Delivery anticipation.

Automation assists farmers in their daily work, while anticipation offers them significant financial savings. Indeed, thanks to anticipation, trucks are perfectly filled and deliveries do not take place on holidays or Sundays. The farmer can therefore control the management of his supply chain autonomously.

The attractive price of measurement technology

While measurement technology helps to save money on orders and deliveries, it is also financially affordable. Indeed, the price of the sensor and the price of the electronic unit are less than 500 €. This price includes installation and material. Since the equipment is installed on one of the legs, no ladder or other lifting equipment is required.

Besides the purchase price, the user will have to pay an annual subscription in order to have access to the monitoring application and the management platform.

This subscription, which also includes support, is between €19 and €49 per year.

Lastly, the battery life is between five and ten years. This means that during this period, the hardware will not need any maintenance: no cleaning or physical calibration will be required during the use of the hardware.

Breeders’ work safer thanks to connected silos

The sensor offers breeders the guarantee that they will be able to feed their animals under all circumstances. But it also allows them to work in complete safety.

Measuring the contents of silos in complete safety

The sensor positioned on one of the feet of the silo replaces the work of the farmer. The farmer no longer has to climb to the top of each silo to evaluate the filling level.

On the contrary, the sensors are powerful and reliable measuring tools that help farmers in their decisions. Connected silos can generate feed orders automatically. But the farmer keeps control of his tools and can modify the parameters at any time.

Connected agriculture but secure agriculture

By defining the maximum level, or alert threshold, the farmer determines the level of production necessary for the operation of his farm. He thus secures the feeding of his cattle or pigs. Furthermore, all data collected are secure data. Indeed they are part of personal data and are therefore subject to strict regulations. The security of each piece of information collected depends on national and European legislation such as the GDPR, the General Data Protection Regulation that came into force in 2018.

Connected agriculture and sustainable agriculture represent the future of livestock farming and farms. Connected silos are a perfect example of this as they make it possible for human labor and animal feed, while preserving the environment.

We recommend these other pages:

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.