⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

A quoi servent les sondes de niveau des silos connectés ?

A quoi servent les sondes de niveau des silos connectés ?

La connectivité s’invite partout dans notre quotidien. Au-delà des objets connectés du quotidien, de nombreuses technologies permettent de faciliter la gestion d’activités professionnelles.

L’IoT (Internet des Objets) se développe également dans le milieu agricole afin d’automatiser certaines tâches redondantes pour optimiser le temps de travail. Le fonctionnement d’un silo connecté en est un exemple parlant. Un silo connecté permet à tout agriculteur de connaitre avec précision le taux de remplissage du silo grâce à l’installation d’un capteur ou d’une sonde de niveau. Comment fonctionne une sonde de niveau ? Nous vous expliquons de suite le principe de fonctionnement de cet équipement connecté.

Les sondes de niveau des silos connectés-1

Pourquoi installer une sonde de niveau dans un silo ?

Une sonde de niveau est généralement utilisée pour connaître le niveau de remplissage d’un silo ou de tout autre réservoir contenant du liquide ou des céréales. Vous pouvez également retrouver cet équipement sous l’appellation de capteur de niveau. Il existe plusieurs types de sondes de niveau utilisant plusieurs méthodes de sondage du niveau restant dans le silo.

Une sonde de niveau représente également un objet connecté qui va envoyer ses données récoltées aux serveurs de la société la commercialisant. Ces données seront ensuite analysées afin d’être retransmises à l’agriculteur via une interface web.

Une sonde ou un capteur de niveau permet donc de connaître en temps réel le niveau de remplissage d’un silo sans devoir examiner l’intérieur du silo. Cela permet d’optimiser les jours de livraison pour réduire le temps de travail dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Comment fonctionne une sonde de niveau ?

Pour un silo de céréales, la sonde de niveau généralement utilisée fonctionne par ultrasons. Ce modèle de capteur de niveau va mesurer la distance restante entre la membrane réceptive du capteur et la surface du niveau des denrées alimentaires.

Pour cela, la sonde de niveau ultrasonique va émettre des ondes ultrasonores. Ces ondes ultrasonores vont traverser les céréales contenues dans le silo. Ces ondes vont ensuite être renvoyées vers la sonde lorsqu’elles atteindront la surface des céréales.

Sachant que ces ondes se propagent à la vitesse du son, il sera dès lors possible pour le capteur de niveau de calculer le temps écoulé entre l’émission des ondes ultrasoniques et leurs retours par réflexion au capteur. Ce laps de temps sera ensuite converti en distance entre la sonde de niveau et la surface de céréales du silo afin de connaître le taux de remplissage du silo.

A noter que ces capteurs de niveau fonctionnent sur batterie. Il n’y a donc pas besoin de prévoir une alimentation électrique. Cette batterie a été conçue pour durer en moyenne 5 ans. Il est possible selon les modèles de la remplacer facilement au terme de ce délai.

Comment s’installe une sonde de niveau ?

Une sonde de niveau doit pouvoir envoyer ses ondes ultrasoniques à travers les céréales contenues dans le silo pour calculer le taux de remplissage du silo. Partant de ce postulat, la sonde de niveau doit être installée à l’intérieur du silo.

Grâce à un réseau de télécommunication sécurisé tel que Sigfox ou LoRaWAN par exemple, la sonde de niveau peut émettre les données collectées directement depuis l’intérieur du silo.

Bon à savoir : l’installation d’une sonde de niveau peut être réalisée aussi bien sur des silos en plastique qu’en acier, enterrés ou sur pieds.

Les sondes de niveau des silos connectés-2

Quelle est la différence entre une sonde de niveau et un capteur pour silos connectés ?

Une sonde de niveau est parfois aussi appelée capteur de niveau. Dès lors, quelle est la différence entre un capteur de niveau et un capteur pour silos connectés ?

Derrière ces appellations qui peuvent prêter à confusion, la différence est pourtant de taille. En effet, il ne s’agit pas de la même technologie permettant de mesurer le taux de remplissage d’un silo. 

Le capteur de niveau va procéder à la mesure du niveau contenu dans le silo grâce à l’émission d’ondes ultrasoniques.

Le capteur pour silos connectés va, quant à lui, être composé d’une jauge de contrainte pouvant détecter les micro-déformations d’un silo. Ces micro-déformations vont être causées par le changement de niveau des céréales contenues dans le silo. Grâce à l’algorithme, les données recueillies par le capteur au sujet de ces micro-déformations vont permettre de connaître le niveau de remplissage du silo.

Le capteur pour silos connectés est donc aussi un objet dit connecté qui permet d’envoyer les données récoltées à une base de données. Les professionnels du milieu agricole pourront vérifier facilement le niveau de leurs silos directement par le biais d’une application mobile avec un accès sécurisé.

Outre la technologie utilisée pour mesurer le niveau de remplissage d’un silo, une autre différence est à constater entre ces 2 dispositifs. En effet, la sonde de niveau doit obligatoirement être installée dans le silo pour pouvoir effectuer ses mesures. Ce n’est pas le cas du capteur pour silos connectés, qui se fixe directement sur l’un des pieds du silo. Le capteur pour silos connectés est par conséquent installé à l’extérieur du silo. Il n’est donc pas au contact des denrées alimentaires et ne peut en aucun cas interférer sur la qualité des céréales stockées.

Nous vous recommandons ces autres pages :

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.

⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

What are the level probes of connected silos used for?

What are the level probes of connected silos used for?

Connectivity is everywhere in our daily lives. Beyond the connected objects of everyday life, many technologies can facilitate the management of professional activities.

The IoT (Internet of Things) is also developing in the agricultural sector in order to automate certain redundant tasks to optimize working time. The operation of a connected silo is a telling example. A connected silo allows any farmer to know with precision the filling rate of the silo thanks to the installation of a sensor or a level probe. How does a level probe work? We explain you right away the principle of operation of this connected equipment.

Les sondes de niveau des silos connectés-1

Why install a level probe in a silo?

A level probe is generally used to find out the filling level of a silo or any other tank containing liquid or grain. This equipment can also be referred to as a level sensor. There are several types of level probes that use several methods of probing the level remaining in the silo.

A level probe also represents a connected object that will send its collected data to the servers of the company marketing it. This data will then be analyzed in order to be transmitted to the farmer via a web interface.

A probe or a level sensor allows knowing in real-time the filling level of a silo without having to examine the inside of the silo. This allows the optimization of delivery days to reduce work time in the supply chain.

How does a level probe work?

For a grain silo, the level probe generally used works by ultrasound. This model of level sensor will measure the remaining distance between the receptive membrane of the sensor and the surface of the food level.

For this purpose, the ultrasonic level probe will emit ultrasonic waves. These ultrasonic waves will pass through the grain in the silo. These waves will then be sent back to the probe when they reach the surface of the grain.

Knowing that these waves propagate at the speed of sound, it will then be possible for the level sensor to calculate the time elapsed between the emission of the ultrasonic waves and their return by reflection to the sensor. This time will then be converted into the distance between the level sensor and the grain surface of the silo in order to know the filling rate of the silo.

Please note that these level sensors are battery operated. There is therefore no need to provide a power supply. This battery is designed to last an average of 5 years. It is possible, depending on the model, to easily replace it at the end of this period.

How is a level probe installed?

A level probe must be able to send its ultrasonic waves through the grain in the silo to calculate the silo’s filling rate. Based on this assumption, the level probe must be installed inside the silo.

Thanks to a secure telecommunication network such as Sigfox or LoRaWAN for example, the level probe can transmit the collected data directly from inside the silo.

Good to know: the installation of a level probe can be carried out on plastic or steel silos, buried or on feet.

Les sondes de niveau des silos connectés-2

What is the difference between a level sensor and a sensor for connected silos?

A level probe is sometimes also called a level sensor. Therefore, what is the difference between a level sensor and a sensor for connected silos?

Behind these confusing names, however, there is a big difference. Indeed, it is not the same technology used to measure the filling rate of a silo.

The level sensor will measure the level in the silo by emitting ultrasonic waves.

The sensor for connected silos will be composed of a strain gauge that can detect micro-deformations of a silo. These micro deformations will be caused by the change in level of the grain contained in the silo. Thanks to the algorithm, the data collected by the sensor about these micro-deformations will allow to know the filling level of the silo.

The sensor for connected silos is therefore also a so-called connected object that allows the collected data to be sent to a database. Agricultural professionals will be able to easily check the level of their silos directly through a mobile application with secure access.

In addition to the technology used to measure the filling level of a silo, there is another difference between these 2 devices. Indeed, the level probe must be installed in the silo to be able to carry out its measurements. This is not the case with the sensor for connected silos, which is fixed directly on one of the silo feet. The sensor for connected silos is therefore installed outside the silo. It is therefore not in contact with foodstuffs and can in no way interfere with the quality of the stored grain.

We recommend these other pages:

 

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.