⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

L’agriculture connectée, une des réponses aux problèmes environnementaux de demain

L’agriculture connectée, une des réponses aux problèmes environnementaux de demain

Dans un contexte de réchauffement climatique, d’épuisement des ressources, mais aussi pour répondre aux nouveaux enjeux environnementaux, comme la lutte contre la pollution ou la protection de la biodiversité, l’agriculture doit aujourd’hui évoluer.

Les techniques agricoles actuelles sont basées sur une culture intensive pour faire face à une démographie qui ne cesse de croître, avec une utilisation excessive de produits phytosanitaires chimiques et lourds, un travail des sols permanent ne permettant pas sa régénérescence et provoquant son épuisement et de forts impacts environnementaux non négligeables. 

De plus, les modes de consommation évoluent, comme en témoigne le succès de l’agriculture biologique. Les consommateurs s’orientent désormais plus volontiers vers une culture responsable et respectueuse de l’environnement et vers des produits plus naturels.

Pour répondre à ces nouveaux enjeux et grâce à l’expansion du numérique et des nouvelles technologies, de nouvelles tendances se développent, comme l’agriculture connectée. Vous êtes exploitant agricole et souhaitez en connaitre davantage sur ce qu’est l’agriculture connectée, nous vous expliquons tout ce qu’il faut savoir.

Qu'est-ce que l'agriculture connectée ?-1

En quoi consiste l’agriculture connectée ?

L’utilisation d’outils numériques et d’internet se généralise aujourd’hui dans tous les domaines personnels et professionnels, y compris dans le monde agricole, notamment avec le renouvèlement de la profession grâce à l’impulsion des jeunes agriculteurs, nés dans une époque ultra-connectée à l’internet.

L’agriculture connectée d’aujourd’hui

L’utilisation de l’informatique et d’internet n’est pas nouvelle chez les agriculteurs notamment pour les tâches administratives. Mais, conscients des avantages liés au numérique, son utilisation se diversifie :

  • échanges sur les forums d’agriculteurs ;
  • suivi du cours du marché ;
  • achat de matériel agricole et livraison favorisant un réel gain de temps ;
  • vente de produits en ligne ;
  • suivi de la météo à l’heure près grâce à une application spécifique ; 
  • consultation des cartes satellites pour l’épandage ;
  • et bien d’autres tâches plus techniques comme l’automatisation des robots de traite, le réglage des machines de production, etc.).

Mais aujourd’hui, l’agriculture connectée prend une réelle ampleur et propose de nouvelles solutions techniques innovantes pour faciliter la gestion quotidienne de l’exploitation.

L’agriculture connectée de demain en France

Avec l’arrivée du ” sans fil ” et le développement de l’intelligence artificielle, il est désormais possible de connecter les différentes actions automatisées entre elles fonctionnant jusque là de manière indépendante, et de les faire communiquer entre elles.

Ainsi, l’agriculture connectée permet de récolter l’ensemble des données de l’exploitation qui seront ensuite analysées par un système central dans le but d’informer l’agriculteur de certains risques, ou tout simplement à des fins de conseil.

De plus, l’agriculture connectée permet de relier des outils connectés afin qu’ils communiquent entre eux et agissent en conséquence sans intervention humaine.

Par exemple, l’installation dans les parcelles exploitées de capteurs autonomes et connectés permet la collecte d’informations, qui seront ensuite analysées pour informer l’agriculteur. Présence éventuelle de nuisibles ou d’une maladie sur une zone précise ? L’agriculture connectée sera en mesure d’adapter le traitement sur la zone spécifique et préserver le reste de l’exploitation. Parcelles qui ne se développent pas assez ? Grâce à l’agriculture connectée, ajuster la distribution d’engrais automatiquement selon les zones et directement sur l’engin agricole lui-même connecté devient possible.

Comme nous l’avons vu, l’agriculture connectée est un outil d’aide à la décision, via une application qui regroupe l’ensemble des données collectées par les engins reliés au système. Mais elle permet aussi de créer des alertes spécifiques et d’automatiser les actions avec ou sans intervention humaine.

Qu'est-ce que l'agriculture connectée ?-2

Comment fonctionne l’agriculture connectée ? 

L’agriculture connectée fonctionne à l’aide de capteurs ou de sondes de mesure, qui peuvent être installées n’importe où dans les parcelles, dans les silos par exemple, mais aussi au sein d’un élevage pour suivre l’évolution du troupeau. Leur rôle premier est de collecter des données, comme le taux d’humidité du sol, la vigueur des plantes, les ions du sol, etc. 

L’ensemble des données collectées sont ensuite envoyées à un outil de contrôle et d’analyse (une plateforme centrale) relié à une interface de connexion via un port USB ou par un système de communication sans fil (Bluetooth ou WIFI). Grâce à cette interface entièrement personnalisable, déclinée en application mobile pour smartphone, les agriculteurs ont un accès direct et sécurisé à ces informations, peu importe où ils se trouvent.

Mais, avec le développement d’objets connectés, il est désormais possible de connecter des engins agricoles autonomes pour les commander à distance, grâce à l’application, ou les programmer selon des seuils d’alerte. Par exemple, si le taux de mauvaises herbes dépassent le seuil défini, le robot désherbeur connecté se met automatiquement en marche. Certains modèles performants peuvent même être équipés d’un système de navigation leur permettant de se diriger précisément là où se trouvent les mauvaises herbes afin de ne traiter que la zone en question. Ainsi, l’agriculteur n’a plus besoin d’avoir recours à des pesticides pour le désherbage de l’exploitation entière.

Les atouts de l’agriculture connectée

Parmi les nombreux atouts de l’agriculture connectée, ou également appelée robotique, relevons ceux qui nous semblent essentiels à tout agriculteur. 

  1. L’agriculture connectée permet de faire des cultures de précision et éthiques en ne traitant que ce qui a besoin de l’être et seulement au moment opportun. Les agriculteurs peuvent alors produire une alimentation plus saine tout en préservant, voire dynamisant, la biodiversité et les énergies renouvelables.
  2. L’agriculture robotisée permet l’optimisation du temps de travail. En effet, l’application contient un agenda permettant l’automatisation et la dématérialisation des tâches administratives. Mais également, d’améliorer le rendement grâce à des circuits de distribution plus courts et facilités. De plus, l’agriculteur peut se décharger de certaines tâches chronophages en les automatisant, comme les différentes mesures régulières.
  3. L‘agriculture connectée permet de faire des économies en ne traitant que des zones spécifiques et non l’ensemble de son exploitation agricole ou animale.
  4. L’agriculteur connecté fait partie d’un réseau et d’une communauté d’entre-aide, forts des conseils et expériences de ses pairs, ils peuvent s’adapter aux nouveaux enjeux règlementaires ou faire face à des conditions particulières. C’est également un excellent outil de formation et de développement de nouvelles compétences ou connaissances des agriculteurs, qui du fait de leur activité ne peuvent pas toujours quitter leur exploitation, grâce à des services de formations e-learning.

L’agriculture connectée se révèle ainsi être un véritable assistant dans la gestion quotidienne des exploitations, et les nouvelles technologies en cours de développement permettront prochainement de pouvoir automatiser davantage de tâches agricoles vers une transition d’exploitations aux modes de cultures plus autonomes.

Nous vous recommandons ces autres pages :

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.

⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

Connected agriculture, one of the answers to tomorrow’s environmental issues

Connected agriculture, one of the answers to tomorrow’s environmental issues

In a context of global warming, depletion of resources, but also to meet new environmental challenges, such as the fight against pollution or the protection of biodiversity, agriculture must now evolve.

Current agricultural techniques are based on intensive cultivation to cope with a growing population, with an excessive use of chemical and heavy phytosanitary products, permanent tillage that does not allow its regeneration and causes its depletion and strong environmental impacts that are not negligible.

In addition, consumption patterns are changing, as evidenced by the success of organic farming. Consumers are now more willing to move towards a responsible and environmentally friendly culture and towards more natural products.

To meet these new challenges and thanks to the expansion of digital and new technologies, new trends are developing, such as connected agriculture. If you are a farmer and want to know more about what connected agriculture is, we explain everything you need to know.

Qu'est-ce que l'agriculture connectée ?-1

What is connected agriculture?

The use of digital tools and the Internet is becoming widespread today in all personal and professional fields, including in the agricultural world, especially with the renewal of the profession thanks to the impetus of young farmers, born in an era ultra-connected to the Internet.

Today’s connected agriculture

The use of computers and the internet is not new to farmers, especially for administrative tasks. But, aware of the advantages of digital technology, its use is diversifying:

  • exchanges on farmers’ forums ;
  • market price monitoring ;
  • purchase of agricultural equipment and delivery, thus saving time;
  • sale of products online ;
  • weather monitoring up to the hour thanks to a specific application;
  • consultation of satellite maps for spreading ;
  • and many other more technical tasks such as the automation of milking robots, the adjustment of production machines, etc.).

But today, connected agriculture is taking on a real dimension and offers new and innovative technical solutions to facilitate the daily management of the farm.

Tomorrow’s connected agriculture in France

With the advent of “wireless” and the development of artificial intelligence, it is now possible to connect the various automated actions together, which until then had been working independently, and to make them communicate with each other.

Thus, connected agriculture allows the collection of all farm data which will then be analyzed by a central system in order to inform the farmer of certain risks, or simply for advisory purposes.

Moreover, connected agriculture allows connected tools to be linked so that they communicate with each other and act accordingly without human intervention.

For example, the installation of autonomous and connected sensors in operated plots allows the collection of information, which will then be analyzed to inform the farmer. Possible presence of pests or disease in a specific area? The connected agriculture will be able to adapt the treatment on the specific area and preserve the rest of the farm. Plots that do not develop enough? Thanks to the connected agriculture, adjusting the distribution of fertilizer automatically according to the zones and directly on the connected agricultural machine itself becomes possible.

As we have seen, connected agriculture is a decision support tool, via an application that gathers all the data collected by the machines connected to the system. But it also enables the creation of specific alerts and the automation of actions with or without human intervention.

Qu'est-ce que l'agriculture connectée ?-2

How does connected agriculture work?

Connected farming works with the help of sensors or measuring probes, which can be installed anywhere in the plots, in silos for example, but also within a livestock farm to monitor the evolution of the herd. Their primary role is to collect data, such as soil moisture, plant vigour, soil ions, etc., which can be used to monitor the evolution of the herd.

All the data collected is then sent to a control and analysis tool (a central platform) connected to a connection interface via a USB port or a wireless communication system (Bluetooth or WIFI). Thanks to this fully customizable interface, available as a mobile application for smartphones, farmers have direct and secure access to this information, wherever they are.

However, with the development of connected objects, it is now possible to connect autonomous agricultural machines to control them remotely, thanks to the application, or to program them according to alert thresholds. For example, if the weed rate exceeds the defined threshold, the connected weeding robot automatically starts up. Some high-performance models can even be equipped with a navigation system that allows them to navigate precisely where the weeds are so that only the area in question is treated. In this way, the farmer no longer needs to use pesticides to weed the entire farm.

The assets of connected agriculture

Among the many assets of connected agriculture, or also called robotics, are those that we believe are essential for any farmer.

  1. Connected agriculture allows for precision and ethical cultivation by only treating what needs to be treated and only at the right time. Farmers can then produce healthier food while preserving, and even boosting, biodiversity and renewable energy.
  2. Robotic agriculture allows the optimization of working time. Indeed, the application contains an agenda allowing the automation and dematerialization of administrative tasks. But also, to improve the yield thanks to shorter and easier distribution channels. In addition, the farmer can relieve himself of certain time-consuming tasks by automating them, such as the various regular measurements.
  3. Connected farming saves money by treating only specific areas and not the entire farm or animal operation.
  4. The connected farmer is part of a network and a community of self-help, with the advice and experience of peers, they can adapt to new regulatory issues or face particular conditions. It is also an excellent tool for training and developing new skills or knowledge for farmers, who due to their activity cannot always leave their farms, thanks to e-learning training services.

Connected agriculture is thus proving to be a real assistant in the daily management of farms, and the new technologies currently being developed will soon make it possible to automate more agricultural tasks towards a transition from farms to more autonomous farming methods.

We recommend these other pages:

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.