⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

Tout savoir sur le système de surveillance à distance des silos

Tout savoir sur le système de surveillance à distance des silos

Surveiller à distance ses silos connectés, tout comme ses IBC tank, est primordial lorsqu’on est exploitant agricole. Sur ce principe, l’IoT, l’internet des objets connectés, prend d’ailleurs toute sa place dans le réseau de surveillance des installations agricoles. Celui-ci relie tout simplement les silos à une application téléchargeable sur smartphone, grâce à un capteur installé sur les pieds de ces derniers. Ce système communique donc toutes les informations utiles à la gestion des produits stockés, du niveau des stocks à la quantité de produits disponibles, en passant par le déclenchement d’une nouvelle livraison, etc.

Après analyse des données dans le cloud, l’application reçoit les informations envoyées par le capteur, et l’utilisateur peut déclencher, au besoin, une livraison de produits via cette dernière, disponible aussi bien sur un téléphone portable Android que sur un iPhone. Voyons ensemble comment les données collectées à distance permettent de surveiller bien plus que les stocks du silo.

Que peut-on surveiller via un silo connecté ?-1

Le fonctionnement des silos connectés : données, sécurité et applications

Chaque capteur installé sur le pied d’un silo est composé d’une jauge de contrainte électronique, qui assure la conversion des données analogiques en données numériques. L’appareil contient toute l’électronique nécessaire par la communication au réseau, en plus d’une alimentation par pile dont la durée de vie est en moyenne de 10 ans. Côté protection, le capteur est abrité par une mousse résistante aux intempéries et aux chocs, ce qui permet à l’agriculteur de ne pas avoir à se soucier des possibles dégâts dus à un orage par exemple.

Lors de l’installation, le technicien déclenche l’envoi des données via le réseau internet, vers une plateforme disponible dans le cloud, où toutes les informations sont ensuite analysées pour être envoyées sur le smartphone de l’utilisateur.

Les données collectées par les capteurs installés sur les silos

Le capteur réagit à chaque mouvement du silo, ce qui implique que lorsque du produit est soustrait de celui-ci, le capteur perçoit une différence de poids qu’il analyse et convertit par la suite. Après l’envoi automatique des données à la plateforme, celle-ci les traite immédiatement et les délivre à l’utilisateur, pour que ce dernier effectue le contrôle de niveau de chaque silo en toute sécurité.

La sécurité des communications 

Les données et communications transmises par les capteurs sont hébergées en Europe et soumises à la réglementation RGPD applicable en France. Ainsi, le système de communication à distance, installé sur les capteurs, certifie un traitement en toute sécurité des informations de l’entreprise.

L’utilisation et les applications des données dans le quotidien de l’entreprise  

Les informations et données de l’IoT collectées sur le téléphone portable permettent de vérifier : 

  • les stocks de l’ensemble des silos ; 
  • le niveau du stock présent dans chaque silo ; 
  • la nature du produit présent dans le silo ; 
  • le tonnage restant ; 
  • les médicaments et compléments alimentaires ajoutés aux produits de base.

L’utilisateur a également la possibilité de passer commande directement depuis l’application, dès qu’il reçoit une alerte de stock trop bas. 

L’un des avantages du système de surveillance à distance des silos est sans aucun doute la réception d’une alerte de stock trop bas, en plus de celle figurant dans l’application installée sur le smartphone. Lorsque cette dernière est envoyée, il suffit de valider la demande de l’application pour déclencher la livraison. L’application demande ensuite la confirmation des points suivants : 

  • le jour de la livraison ; 
  • le produit désiré ; 
  • la quantité nécessaire pour compléter le silo ;
  • le lancement d’une commande d’un camion plein.

Cette gestion quasi automatisée fait gagner beaucoup de temps au gestionnaire du silo, et lui évite une rupture de stock qui peut avoir de graves conséquences pour l’exploitation. De plus, la surveillance à distance permet d’identifier un silo dont le stock descendrait plus vite que la normale.

La prévision de consommation à 4 jours 

L’application remet aussi une prévision de consommation du silo sur 4 jours, en contrôlant et en effectuant le croisement des consommations précédentes, silo par silo, suivant le tonnage soustrait et la fréquence d’utilisation des produits. Cette prévision permet également de déclencher immédiatement une livraison et d’éviter une rupture de stock imprévue.

Que peut-on surveiller via un silo connecté ?-2

Surveiller ses silos à distance : les services de la solution connectée au service des entreprises agricoles

Bien qu’il soit possible de croire que ce petit appareil installé au pied du silo ne fait que surveiller le niveau des stocks, ce n’est pas du tout le cas, puisque les données connectées sont aussi très utiles aux entreprises.

L’application peut ainsi être couplée au logiciel de gestion de l’entreprise (ERP), via la plateforme et les API, ce qui permet aux différents services de la société de bénéficier d’informations sur :

  • la gestion des stocks ;
  • les commandes passées ;
  • les factures reçues ;
  • la consommation des produits.

Les rapprochements comptables sont donc facilités par un véritable suivi des matières consommées, livrées et commandées. 

Notons que le monde agricole s’ouvre également aux nouvelles méthodes de gestion par la mise en place de KPI, des indicateurs clés de performance. Ces derniers mesurent ainsi l’efficacité globale de l’entreprise, comme le turnover des stocks, l’analyse de la durée moyenne d’un produit en silo, et d’autres facteurs qui figurent au tableau de bord de la société agricole. 

La personnalisation du système de surveillance des silos

On l’aura compris, la surveillance des silos est un triangle composé : 

  • d’un appareil, à savoir le capteur ; 
  • d’une plateforme essentielle pour la réception des données ; 
  • d’une application disponible sur le téléphone portable.

Ce triangle d’outils est donc en communication permanente via le réseau internet, et la plateforme accède à l’application grâce à une connexion internet sécurisée, qui remet ses analyses personnelles à l’utilisateur. Etant donné que l’application s’intègre aussi à l’ERP de l’entreprise, le système d’informations peut être personnalisé par l’ajout du logo de l’entreprise et de sa charte graphique : couleurs, police de caractères, etc. 

Pour conclure, surveiller ses silos à distance ne consiste pas uniquement en une simple vérification du niveau de produits présents dans les silos, puisque la qualité des données collectées permet dorénavant l’utilisation de la technologie de l’IoT au quotidien dans le monde agricole.

Grâce aux livraisons automatisées et à l’intégration des pièces comptables et de gestion des différents services de l’entreprise, la technologie du tout connecté a de beaux jours devant elle. Il faut croire qu’avec l’IoT, le monde agricole a enfin trouvé cette aide précieuse qui lui manquait tant.

Nous vous recommandons ces autres pages :

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.

⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

All about remote silo monitoring system

All about remote silo monitoring system

Remote monitoring of connected silos, like IBC tanks, is essential when you are a farmer. This is why the IoT, the Internet of Connected Objects, has become an important part of the monitoring network for agricultural facilities. It simply connects the silos to an application that can be downloaded to a smartphone, thanks to a sensor installed on the feet of the silos. This system therefore communicates all the information useful for managing stored products, from stock levels to the quantity of products available, including the triggering of a new delivery, etc.

After analyzing the data in the cloud, the application receives the information sent by the sensor, and the user can trigger, if necessary, a delivery of products via the latter, available on both Android cell phones and iPhone. Let’s see how remotely collected data can monitor much more than just silo inventory.

Que peut-on surveiller via un silo connecté ?-1

The functioning of connected silos: data, security and applications

Each sensor installed at the foot of a silo is composed of an electronic strain gauge, which converts analog data into digital data. The device contains all the necessary electronics for network communication, in addition to a battery power supply with an average life of 10 years. On the protection side, the sensor is protected by a weather- and impact-resistant foam, so that the farmer does not have to worry about possible damage due to a thunderstorm, for example.

During installation, the technician triggers the sending of data via the Internet to a platform available in the cloud, where all the information is then analyzed and sent to the user’s smartphone.

The data collected by the sensors installed on the silos

The sensor reacts to each movement of the silo, which means that when the product is removed from the silo, the sensor perceives a difference in weight which it then analyses and converts. Once the data is automatically sent to the platform, it is immediately processed by the platform and delivered to the user, so that the user can perform a safe level control of each silo.

Communications security

The data and communications transmitted by the sensors are hosted in Europe and subject to the RGPD regulations applicable in France. Thus, the remote communication system, installed on the sensors, certifies a secure processing of the company’s information.

The use and applications of data in the daily life of the company

IoT information and data collected on the cell phone can be used to verify :

  • the stocks of all the silos ;
  • the level of stock present in each silo ;
  • the nature of the product present in the silo ;
  • the remaining tonnage ;
  • medicines and food supplements added to commodities.

The user also has the possibility to place an order directly from the application, as soon as he receives a low stock alert.

One of the advantages of the remote silo monitoring system is undoubtedly the receipt of a low stock alert, in addition to the one in the application installed on the smartphone. When the latter is sent, simply validating the application’s request is enough to trigger the delivery. The application then asks for confirmation of the following points :

  • the day of delivery ;
  • the desired product ;
  • the quantity needed to complete the silo ;
  • the launch of an order for a full truck.

This virtually automated management saves the silo manager a lot of time and avoids a stock shortage that can have serious consequences for the operation. In addition, remote monitoring allows the identification of a silo whose stock is falling faster than normal.

The 4-day consumption forecast

The application also provides a 4-day silo consumption forecast, controlling and cross-referencing the previous consumption, silo by silo, according to the tonnage subtracted and the frequency of use of the products. This forecast also makes it possible to immediately trigger a delivery and avoid an unexpected stock shortage.

Que peut-on surveiller via un silo connecté ?-2

Monitor your silos remotely: the services of the connected solution for agricultural businesses

While it may seem that this small device installed at the foot of the silo only monitors inventory levels, this is not at all the case, since the connected data is also very useful to companies.

The application can thus be coupled with the company’s business management software (ERP), via the platform and APIs, allowing the company’s various departments to benefit from information on :

  • inventory management ;
  • orders placed ;
  • invoices received ;
  • the consumption of the products.

Accounting reconciliations are therefore facilitated by a real follow-up of the materials consumed, delivered and ordered.

It should be noted that the agricultural world is also opening up to new management methods through the implementation of KPIs, key performance indicators. These measure the overall efficiency of the company, such as inventory turnover, analysis of the average duration of a product in the silo, and other factors that appear on the agricultural company’s dashboard.

Customization of the silo monitoring system

As we have understood, silo monitoring is a triangle made up of :

  • of a device, namely the sensor ;
  • an essential platform for data reception;
  • an application available on the cell phone.

This triangle of tools is therefore in permanent communication via the Internet network, and the platform accesses the application through a secure Internet connection, which gives the user his personal analyses. Since the application also integrates with the company’s ERP, the information system can be customized by adding the company’s logo and its graphic charter: colors, fonts, etc.

To conclude, monitoring its silos remotely is not just a simple verification of the level of products present in the silos, since the quality of the data collected now allows the use of IoT technology in the agricultural world on a daily basis.

Thanks to automated deliveries and the integration of accounting and management documents from the different departments of the company, the all-connected technology has a bright future ahead of it. With IoT, the agricultural world has finally found the precious help it sorely needs.

We recommend these other pages:

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.