⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

Pourquoi les silos connectés sont-ils un investissement rentable ?

Pourquoi les silos connectés sont-ils un investissement rentable ?

Dans le milieu agricole, les heures de travail peuvent rapidement s’accumuler. Une bonne organisation s’avère par conséquent indispensable. Pour optimiser les livraisons concernant le remplissage des silos, il est désormais possible d’utiliser la technologie des capteurs pour silos connectés.

Les capteurs permettent dès lors d’améliorer la chaîne d’approvisionnement des IBC tank et autres réservoirs. Outre le gain de temps indéniable, l’installation de ces capteurs pour silos connectés représente également un investissement rentable dès les premières années d’utilisation. Combien coûte l’installation de capteurs pour des silos connectés ? Quels sont les avantages financiers à opter pour les silos connectés ? En combien de temps l’investissement initial devient-il rentable ? Voici les réponses à vos questions.

Silos connectés : combien ça coûte ?-1

Petite présentation : qu’est-ce qu’un silo connecté ?

On parle de silo connecté lorsqu’un équipement de calcul du taux de remplissage du silo est installé sur le silo. Cet équipement permet de communiquer des données concernant le taux de remplissage du silo. Le capteur pour silos connectés représente donc une solution simple à installer et non intrusive avec la pose du capteur à l’extérieur du silo. 

Une fois le capteur installé sur le pied du silo, celui-ci pourra communiquer les données qu’il aura recueillies à la société installant les capteurs via un réseau de communication sécurisé. Ces données seront ensuite analysées et retranscrites pour être accessibles via une application mobile à télécharger sur son smartphone connecté à Internet. L’application mobile permet de consulter rapidement le taux de remplissage des différents silos connectés pour ainsi optimiser les jours de livraison des denrées alimentaires. 

Combien coûte un silo connecté ?

Bénéficier de la technologie de l’Internet de l’objet (IoT) afin d’optimiser les différentes tâches du quotidien devient de plus en plus attractif. Mais au-delà des quelques objets connectés du quotidien, investir dans des équipements afin de réduire son temps de travail représente très souvent un calcul coût/avantages plus réfléchi.

Est-ce que tous les professionnels du milieu agricole peuvent investir dans un silo connecté ? Que comprend le coût de l’installation d’un capteur pour silos connectés ? Comment fonctionne la facturation pour un silo connecté ? Entrons dans le vif du sujet.

Un investissement initial : le capteur 

L’installation d’un capteur pour silos connectés est l’étape préalable à l’utilisation de l’application mobile pour connaître en temps réel le taux de remplissage de vos silos connectés.

Dès lors, selon le nombre de silos que vous souhaitez connecter vous aurez un tarif fixe relatif au coût de l’installation. A noter que l’installation d’un capteur ne prend qu’une quinzaine de minutes par un professionnel habilité et s’effectue par vissage au pied du silo. Par conséquent, le coût de l’installation d’un capteur pour silos connectés sera bien moindre par rapport à un équipement à installer à l’intérieur du silo avec toutes les mesures de non-contamination des denrées qui s’imposent. 

Un abonnement pour bénéficier du service de communication

Pour consulter en un clin d’oeil directement sur son smartphone le niveau d’approvisionnement de ses silos connectés, une application mobile est disponible avec une communication sécurisée des différentes données recueillies sur les silos. 

Pour bénéficier de toute la technologie IoT désormais développée au profit de l’agriculture, il convient d’utiliser les réseaux de communication et les interfaces disponibles sur une application mobile. Ce service est proposé sous forme d’abonnement annuel. L’abonnement correspond aux frais de fonctionnement inhérent :

  • à l’utilisation du réseau de communication pour une retransmission des données recueillies par le capteur en temps réel;
  • à l’intelligence artificielle afin d’anticiper avec une marge d’erreur faible le niveau de remplissage des silos;
  • au logiciel permettant de retranscrire les données récoltées sur les silos connectés;
  • au fonctionnement et à l’accès sécurisé à l’application mobile;
  • au service après-vente (SAV). 

Chaque solution proposée concernant la connectivité de vos silos étant étudiée au cas par cas, vous pourrez recevoir une estimation du TCO mensuel que représente cet investissement. 

Le TCO est un terme économique qui signifie “Total Cost of Ownership”. Traduit en français, ce terme correspond au coût global de possession. En d’autres termes, il s’agit d’une estimation du coût total d’un produit tout au long de son cycle d’utilisation. Pour un capteur de silos connectés, l’estimation d’un TCO mensuel est comprise entre 5 et 10 € par silo

Silos connectés : combien ça coûte ?-2

En combien de temps un silo connecté est-il rentable ?

Un devis ne suffit pas forcément pour estimer avec exactitude si l’investissement est rentable. Une étude a donc été menée concernant la durée nécessaire pour que l’investissement initial soit amorti et rentable.

En considérant que le TCO mensuel d’un silo connecté est compris entre 5 et 10 €, le coût d’un capteur pour silos connectés est amortissable en 5 ans

Concernant sa rentabilité, il convient de s’intéresser au temps de travail économisé que permet la gestion des stocks via l’installation de ces capteurs pour silos connectés. Pour les professionnels dans l’agroalimentaire, les statistiques permettent de constater que dans une exploitation avec 8 silos en moyenne le temps de gestion des stocks économisé avoisine les 30 minutes par semaine. Partant de ce postulat, l’installation de capteurs pour silos connectés permet un retour sur investissement dès la 3e année d’utilisation

Quels sont les avantages financiers d’un silo connecté ?

Au-delà du prix de l’installation et de l’abonnement pour bénéficier de toute la technologie des silos connectés, d’autres avantages financiers non quantitatifs à l’euro près sont également à prendre en compte.

En effet, l’utilisation d’un capteur pour silos connectés afin de vérifier le taux d’approvisionnement du silo permet :

  • d’éviter tout risque de pénurie pouvant amener des livraisons urgentes;
  • d’optimiser les jours de livraison afin de réduire les coûts de transport.

Dès lors, avec les silos connectés il est désormais possible d’anticiper les pénuries afin de programmer des jours de livraison groupés. A terme, des économies peuvent également être réalisées en évitant les commandes urgentes et en optimisant les livraisons de denrées alimentaires selon le niveau de remplissage de chaque silo.

Nous vous recommandons ces autres pages :

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.

⚠ COVID 19 : OUR TEAM IS HERE TO HELP YOU OVERCOME THIS CRISIS.

Why are connected silos a profitable investment?

Why are connected silos a profitable investment?

In the agricultural environment, hours of work can quickly add up. Good organization is therefore essential. In order to optimize deliveries for silo filling, it is now possible to use sensor technology for connected silos.

Sensors therefore improve the supply chain of IBC tanks and other tanks. In addition to the undeniable time saving, the installation of these sensors for connected silos also represents a profitable investment from the first years of use. How much does the installation of sensors for connected silos cost? What are the financial advantages to opt for connected silos? How long does the initial investment take to pay for itself? Here are the answers to your questions.

Silos connectés : combien ça coûte ?-1

Small presentation: what is a connected silo?

A connected silo is a silo that is connected when silo fill rate calculation equipment is installed on the silo. This equipment allows to communicate data concerning the filling rate of the silo. The sensor for connected silos is therefore a simple to install and non-intrusive solution with the installation of the sensor outside the silo.

Once the sensor is installed on the silo base, the silo will be able to communicate the data it has collected to the company installing the sensors via a secure communication network. This data will then be analyzed and retranscribed to be accessible via a mobile application that can be downloaded to a smartphone connected to the Internet. The mobile application allows to quickly consult the filling rate of the different connected silos to optimize the days of food delivery.

How much does a connected silo cost?

Taking advantage of the Internet of Things (IoT) technology to optimize the various tasks of everyday life becomes more and more attractive. But beyond the few connected everyday objects, investing in equipment to reduce working time is often a more considered cost-benefit calculation.

Can all agricultural professionals invest in a connected silo? What does the cost of installing a sensor for connected silos include? How does invoicing for a connected silo work? Let’s get to the heart of the matter.

An initial investment: the sensor

The installation of a sensor for connected silos is the preliminary step before using the mobile application to know in real time the filling rate of your connected silos.

From then on, depending on the number of silos you wish to connect you will have a fixed rate relative to the cost of the installation. Please note that the installation of a sensor only takes about fifteen minutes by an authorized professional and is done by screwing at the foot of the silo. Consequently, the cost of installing a sensor for connected silos will be much less than the cost of installing equipment inside the silo with all the necessary non-contamination measures.

A subscription to benefit from the communication service

To consult the supply level of its connected silos directly on its smartphone, a mobile application is available with a secure communication of the different data collected on the silos.

To benefit from all the IoT technology now developed for the benefit of agriculture, it is necessary to use the communication networks and interfaces available on a mobile application. This service is offered as an annual subscription. The subscription corresponds to the inherent operating costs:

  • the use of the communication network for real-time retransmission of the data collected by the sensor;
  • Artificial intelligence in order to anticipate with a low margin of error the filling level of the silos;
  • the software to transcribe the data collected on the connected silos;
  • the operation and secure access to the mobile application;
  • to the after-sales service (SAV).

Each proposed solution concerning the connectivity of your silos is studied on a case-by-case basis, so you can receive an estimate of the monthly TCO that this investment represents.

TCO is an economic term meaning “Total Cost of Ownership”. Translated into French, this term corresponds to the total cost of ownership. In other words, it is an estimate of the total cost of a product throughout its life cycle. For a sensor of connected silos, the estimate of a monthly TCO is between 5 and 10 € per silo.

Silos connectés : combien ça coûte ?-2

How long does a connected silo pay for itself?

An estimate is not necessarily enough to accurately estimate whether the investment is profitable. A study has therefore been carried out on the length of time required for the initial investment to be amortized and profitable.

Considering that the monthly TCO of a connected silo is between 5 and 10 €, the cost of a sensor for connected silos can be amortized in 5 years.

In terms of profitability, it is important to consider the time savings that can be achieved by stock management through the installation of these sensors for connected silos. For professionals in the food industry, statistics show that in a farm with an average of 8 silos, the time saved on stock management is around 30 minutes per week. Based on this assumption, the installation of sensors for connected silos allows a return on investment from the 3rd year of use.

What are the financial advantages of a connected silo?

Beyond the price of installation and subscription to benefit from all the technology of the connected silos, other non-quantitative financial advantages to the nearest euro are also to be taken into account.

Indeed, the use of a sensor for connected silos to check the silo’s feed rate allows :

  • to avoid any risk of shortages that could lead to urgent deliveries;
  • to optimize delivery days in order to reduce transport costs.

Therefore, with the connected silos it is now possible to anticipate shortages in order to schedule grouped delivery days. Ultimately, savings can also be made by avoiding rush orders and optimizing food deliveries according to the filling level of each silo.

We recommend these other pages:

 

DEMO PLATFORM ACCESS

Click below to get an access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC or SILO monitoring.

IBC DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for IBC monitoring

SILO DEMO PLATFORM

Fill this form to receive your credentials to access to the demo platform of Nanolike solution for SILO monitoring

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Discover our use case for silos

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

Discover our use case for chemical distribution

Please enter your information below to download our use case.

happy to see you again !

We saw that you’ve visited our website for the second time. Feel free to contact us by writing below your name, phone number or email.

get in touch

Tell us what’s your name and how we can reach out to you and a member of our team will get in touch with you as soon as possible.